Shaveology

Traditional Wet Shaving & More!

Becoming A Barber: Weeks 10-13

Hey Shavers,

Sometimes Life happens and I can’t keep up.  The evening of July 28 I started to feel ill, and it ended up putting me down for a solid week.  Luckily for me, I only get sick about once every 3 years, so I guess it was time. Thankfully, I recovered and was able to return to Barber School. The week after I was ill, my wife got ill, so I helped nurse her back to health in the follow 2 weeks. Needless to say, I have not kept up with my blog entries…

Going forward, I probably will not post a new entry every week, due to the fact that my schedule is somewhat monotonous. Now that I’m in Phase 2, and approaching Phase 3 as I near 600 hours of completion, I’m in the school Barber Zone all day working on requirement services, servicing walk-in clients, or doing book work.  The pace has slowed down somewhat from Phase 1 (Weeks 1-7).

I’ll continue to update as something noteworthy happens. I’m really pleased to announce that I’ve been given permission to use a synthetic shaving brush during shaving services, because it meets sanitation/disinfection requirements (it can be fully submersed in Barbicide, after cleaning with soap & water)! And I’m really proud of servicing this client:

Haircut_and_Shave-1

He came in for a cut & shave last Friday and I think the transformation is pretty incredible. His elderly skin was pretty fragile, so I only did a 1 pass WTG shave, but he was extremely pleased with the results.

During Weeks 8-13 in Phase 2, I’ve completed 31 haircuts on actual clients.  That’s about 1 haircut per day, a little slow, but I’m starting to aggressively network and invite new clients every day.

– – – – – – – – – –

I’ve been able to convert my fellow classmate, Anthony, to wet shaving; he was considering it during my last update.  I also convinced my long time friend Joel to try wet shaving and he made the switch after only a week.

Mark Herro, better known as Mantic59, made an ALS Ice Bucket Challenge video this week. In his video, he wore the custom Shave Like A Mantic59 wet shaving tee I gave him at The Great Shave 2012, in Chicago.

Mantic-Special-Edition-Tee

While his tee was a one-of-a-kind variant, you can get the original Shave Like A Man tee here!

DE-Like-A-Man-Black

Or visit my Zazzle Store for more wet shaving tee designs.

Until next time, Shave Well!

Handsome Rob (Instagram)
“I’m handsome, and you can be handsome too!”

3 comments on “Becoming A Barber: Weeks 10-13

  1. greg
    September 5, 2014

    Enjoying your blog. Just moved to st pete myself and want to enroll at AIB. Great to read your experiences, the insight is helpful. I’ve been holding out on enrollment because of the high price.

    • shaveology
      September 6, 2014

      Hey Greg,

      Thanks for ready my blog! Yes, the cost of AIB can be challenging (the state of FL mandates attending Barber School, so they don’t have to be competitive tuition-wise), but if you’re serious about becoming a barber, and can financially commit to it, it’s a great investment.

      My wife and I spent about 2 months figuring out how to pay for the 1/3 of tuition not covered by financial aid, and our monthly living expenses on only her limited income for 9 months (day student schedule).

      If you do decide to attend, if you tell them I referred you, I qualify for a $100 rebate when you complete Phase 1. My student ID# is 121.

      • greg
        September 16, 2014

        I’m planning on taking tour of the school next week. Hopefully I can finalize financing and get started asap. I will definitely let them know about your referral!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 2, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged .

Calendar

September 2014
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

A WalkedThru Site