Shaveology

Traditional Wet Shaving & More!

Becoming a Barber: Approaching 600 Hours

Hey Shavers,

I’ve been extremely busy during September; I picked up a freelance video project at the beginning of the month, and have been working on it almost every evening after Barber School. It’s a crap sandwich, but I needed the money, and it will taste better once I’ve been paid.

I am approaching the 50% mark of the program, 600 hours. Time has really passed quickly. My clientele is still low, but I am starting to get repeat customers. I just purchased the last of my equipment (probably).  I added  Wahl Icon clippers, Wahl Razor/Edger trimmer, Wahl 5 Star Shaver, and refurbished Oster Turbo clippers to my arsenal of Wahl Legends clippers and a Wahl Hero trimmer.

I have an elderly gentleman, named Sylvester, that visits me every 2 weeks for a head shave; I use a Wahl 5 Star Shaver for him, because he’s on blood thinners and can’t risk a straight blade.

About 3 weeks ago, I got a walk-in client named Jose; I cut his hair and edged his facial hair. He came back and requested me this past Saturday and told me that he had recommended me to his coworkers. I threw in a complimentary hot towel shave with his haircut, and he left feeling like a million bucks. And next time he’s gonna request a hot towel shave, my signature service.

2 weeks ago, I volunteered for a walk-in client who wanted a beard trim and facial service; apparently he is very particular, and based on past experience, several other students claimed they didn’t need the service credits and passed on the client. I edged his beard up and then performed the facial; he told me it was the best service he had received and gave me a $20 tip. He will definitely be back.

I’ve also been able to start using a synthetic shaving brush during my hot towel shaves (because it can be washed then fully submerged in Barbicide). It has held up well so far; I’ve only used it for 4 shaves. I think the bristles may have taken on a slight bluish tint… I have a small selection of creams and soaps clients can choose from based on scent or my desired performance. TOBS Jermyn Street Cream, Jack Black Supreme Cream, RazoRock XXX original, Proraso Sandalwood Soap, Proraso Sensitive Soap, Godrej Lime Cream, Palmolive Cream, J.M. Fraser Cream, Synergy Lavendar Cedar Soap

I’ve updated my business cards with a folding design:

Back | Front

AIB_Folded_business_card_1

Interior L | R

AIB_Folded_business_card_2

Two members of my church work in law enforcement and EMS, and both offered to pass my business cards along to coworkers.

I’ve completed:  52/350 Haircuts  |  2/15 Facial services  |  25/50 Beard & Mustache Trims  |  42/50 Perms  |  23/25 Shaves  |  29/100 Scalp Treatments  |  22/100 Shampoo & Rinses  |  0/10 Relaxers  |  0/25 Hair Coloring

– – – – – – – – – –

I missed out on the Synergy 2.0 CaD shaving soap release (sold out in 26 minutes), but I think it is going to become a regular item so I may get to try it yet.

My birthday is next month, so I decided to back the Rockwell Razors 6S kickstarter campaign, projected December release. I got in on their 2nd tier early bird special. I’ve never used a stainless steel razor and the price was right, eh? (They’re Canadian).

Until next time, Shave Well!

Handsome Rob (Instagram)
“I’m handsome, and you can be handsome too!”

One comment on “Becoming a Barber: Approaching 600 Hours

  1. Erik Price
    November 5, 2014

    HR,

    I will share the images of your card with my friends who work at MacDill AFB at US CENTCOM and SOCOM. Hopefully this will grow your customer base. If I ever get back to the Tampa/St. Pete area, I will definatly look you up

    ENP

Leave a Reply

Calendar

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Instagram

Slow afternoon, Rich is OUT!

#LeosBarbershop #WhereTheBestBarbersWork #Barbershop #NewPortRichey #Trinity #Barber #BarberLife #BarberConnect #BarbershopConnect #HairyMoney #ClipperGame #ShearGame #CuttinUp

A WalkedThru Site

