Shaveology

Traditional Wet Shaving & More!

Becoming a Barber: 900 Hours

Hey Shavers,

Keeping extremely busy with AIB Barber School full time and working valet part time, evenings. This past week I completed 900 hours of my Master Barber training; I am now 75% finished in the 1200 hour program. My confidence and skill level have improved greatly.  I prefer traditional cuts and tapers, but I am getting more comfortable with skin fade haircuts too. I have 2 clients who come weekly to get shaved and several more who come every other week or monthly.

I purchased a customizable database app, called Bento, to create and maintain client records on my iPhone.

My cuts still take about 30-45 min to perform, but they are quality cuts; increased speed will come with time and experience. My sister,a barber in Indiana, takes about 20-25 min per cut, but she’s got 10 years of experience. The most clients I’ve serviced in a day was 6 haircuts and 1 shave, which doesn’t compare to a busy shop, but the school has too many students for the amount of traffic it gets. I’ve read online that Barber School never fully prepares you for the shop, it just gives you the basic foundation to get started. Your first 300 cuts in a shop will be the rest of your training…

I’ll graduate from the program in late February 2015. I have already been recommended to several shops for employment and there are a few recently opened shaving shops that I would like to check out.

I’ve completed:  232/350 Haircuts  |  5/15 Facial services  |  54/50 Beard & Mustache Trims  |  52/50 Perms  |  55/25 Shaves  |  79/100 Scalp Treatments  |  40/100 Shampoo & Rinses  |  0/10 Relaxers  |  6/25 Hair Coloring

Because I haven’t found another student who can cut my hair the way I want, I cut it myself!

– – – – – – – – – –

My birthday was in October and I received several new shaving soaps and samples. My wife got me a tin of BebeLush Bay Rum, Orange & Clove shave soap; I don’t like bay rum by itself, but the orange is prominent enough that I like this. It creates a nice, cushioning lather.

She also got me a tub of Kiehl’s Lite Flite Shave Cream during a recent business trip to Dublin, Ireland. I haven’t shaved with it yet, but it test lathers well; the scent is medicinal and hard to identify. The lid says camphor, menthol, and lavender.

Finally got to try the CaD shaving soap from Phoenix Artisan Accoutrements (formerly How To Grow A Mustache and Petal Pusher Fancies brands); had to buy the 1.5 formula shaving stick because the 2.0 formula tin was still out of stock. The scent is fantastic (very close to classic Barbasol) and I’ve never had a problem with the performance. There was recently some strong controversy regarding the actions of the brand’s owner, which some considered deceptive, but I’ll probably continue to purchase his products.

I also ordered the 6 Maggard Artisan Soap Sampler and a tub of Dapper Dragon Signature Scent from Maggard Razors. They just arrived with week and smell fantastic. Haven’t tried the Maggard soaps yet, but the Dapper Dragon was a fantastic shave Sunday morning.

Received a KickStarter update from Rockwell Razors, and the 6S razor has completed production and is nearing ready to be shipped.

I was also finally able to get a RazoRock Stealth Slant (v2) with stand. I wasn’t happy with how the initial release was handled (“Stealthgate”), but I’ve continued doing business with Italian Barber; RazoRock is still my overall favorite brand. I’ve shaved with it twice and it is glorious. The aluminum razor is extremely lightweight and feels mild, but the cutting action is smooth and efficient. I am able to do WTG and XTG passes, but ATG is a little too aggressive and has caused irritation; it could be my technique, this is my first slant razor. Highly recommended.

Until next time, Shave Well!

Handsome Rob (Instagram)
“I’m handsome, and you can be handsome too!”

7 comments on “Becoming a Barber: 900 Hours

  1. mantic59
    December 9, 2014

    Rob, I didn’t know your sister is a barber as well. Did she play a role in your decision to become one?

    • shaveology
      December 9, 2014

      My sister started as a cosmetologist and transitioned into barbering. I’ve always been well groomed and later became keenly interested in wet shaving (due to your YouTube videos!). Looking at the economy and towards the future, when I decided to pursue a second career barbering came to mind; it is recession proof and won’t be outsourced to robots, plus I could do it anywhere in the World (like the Nomad Barber). I asked for my sister’s advice (and blessing, sibling competition) before committing to barber school. She’s been really helpful and encouraging of my choice and has given me a lot of professional tips already.

  2. Erik Price
    December 15, 2014

    Rob,
    Good Luck with everything. I’ve passed on your info to friends in the Tampa/St. Pete area as well. Looking forward to getting down to your part of the woods in the spring for a haircut and shave. Good Luck on all your endevors.

    PS: Have you tried Aveada shave cream and aftershave. I’ve used the aftershave and it is great. Will try the shaving cream after Christmass (can’t buy it now, I am on Christmass lock-out, can’t buy anything for myself).

    Cheers

    • shaveology
      December 24, 2014

      I had a sample tube of the shave cream; it was brushless and non lathering. Aveda products are good, but expensive, if you like them.

  3. Benton Clay
    January 16, 2015

    Congratulations on this milestone, Rob. Enjoying your blog entries.

  4. Jason
    January 22, 2015

    You are really committed. 900 hours is awesome. Did you have to “pay” any sort of money for the training? If so, how much?

    • shaveology
      January 23, 2015

      Hey Jason,

      Thanks for reading the blog. Yes, I have to pay tuition for Barber School. It’s about $17K. It varies from state to state. If it is an accredited school, financial aid is available; I was able to finance 2/3 of my tuition with financial aid.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 8, 2014 by in General and tagged , , , , , , , .

Calendar

December 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Instagram

Slow afternoon, Rich is OUT!

#LeosBarbershop #WhereTheBestBarbersWork #Barbershop #NewPortRichey #Trinity #Barber #BarberLife #BarberConnect #BarbershopConnect #HairyMoney #ClipperGame #ShearGame #CuttinUp

A WalkedThru Site

